Aliseda, Chesshir enter race for public office in Bee County
by Scott Reese Willey
Jan 07, 2010 | 2669 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jose Aliseda
view slideshow (9 images)
Former Bee County Judge Jose Aliseda will battle Alice attorney Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles for her seat in the Texas House of Representatives this November.

Aliseda, who won election to the Bee County judge’s post in November 1999 on the GOP ticket, filed to run as a Republican in the upcoming November general election.

Neither Aliseda nor Toureilles has an opponent in the March 2 primary election.

Republican David Silva, who presently serves as Bee County judge, will battle former Beeville City Councilman Arnold Medina, a Democrat, in November as well.

Neither the incumbent nor his challenger face opponents in the primary election.

One county race will be most likely be settled in March: the race for Precinct 2 county commissioner.

Incumbent Susan Stasny will face former Beeville Mayor Kenneth Chesshir and Dennis DeWitt, director of the Bee County Community Affairs Department.

All three are running on the Republican ticket.

No Democrats have filed for the office.

Precinct 4 County Commissioner Ronnie Olivarez faces one opponent in the March Democratic primary: Porfirio Longoria.

The winner of that primary election will face Republican Ken Haggard in the November general election. Haggard presently serves as a member of the Skidmore-Tynan school board.

Bee County District Clerk Anna Marie Silvas also will face an opponent in the upcoming November general election.

Silvas, a Democrat, will face former Deputy District Clerk Zenaida Silva in the November election.

Silva, who is presently the chief clerk for the city of Beeville Municipal Court, filed as a Republican.

Silva was a write-in candidate for the office four years ago but lost to Silvas, who owns an insurance agency in Beeville.

Neither Silva nor Silvas has an opponent in the March primary election.

Two candidates have filed for the Precinct 3 justice of the peace post, presently held by Democrat David Garza, who has chosen not to seek re-election.

Those two candidates are: Democrat Abelardo “Abel” Suniga and Republican Patricia L. “Patty” Johnson.

Because they are unopposed in the March primary, Johnson and Suniga will face off in the November election.

It should be noted that opponents who do not face opposition in the March primary could still face a write-in candidate in the November general election.

Winners of the November general election assume office on Jan. 1, 2011.

Individuals who have filed the necessary documents to seek county office, the office they are seeking, and their party affiliation, are:

District 35, Texas House of Representatives

• Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles, Democrat

• Jose Aliseda, Republican

County Judge

• David Silva, Republican

• Arnold Medina, Democrat

Commissioner, Pct. 2

• Susan Stasny, Republican

• Dennis DeWitt, Republican

• Kenneth Chesshir, Republican

Commissioner, Pct. 4

• Ronnie Olivares, Democrat

• Porfirio Longoria, Democrat

• Ken Haggard, Republican

County Clerk

• Mirella Escamilla Davis, Democrat

District Clerk

• Anna Marie Silvas, Democrat

• Zenaida Silva, Republican

Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1

• Raul G. Casarez, Democrat

Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2

• Ted G. Staples, Democrat

Justice of the Peace, Pct. 3

• Abelardo “Abel” Suniga, Democrat

• Patricia L. “Patty” Johnson, Republican

Justice of the Peace, Pct. 4

• Joseph Lyvers, Democrat

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet