Jaso named Citizen of the Year
by Tim Delaney
Mar 08, 2014 | 375 views | 0 0 comments | 25 25 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jaso named Citizen of the Year
REFUGIO – Former Mayor Rey Jaso was awarded the Refugio County Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen of the Year award on Saturday night, March 1.

Chamber Executive Director Lenny Anzaldua read off numerous accolades but emphasized the 41 years Jaso served on the Refugio City Council.

Last year’s Citizen of the Year, Bob Koonce, presented the award to Jaso.

Jaso quipped at the announcement, saying “What took so long?”

But more seriously, he said, “Guys, thanks for putting up with me. The ones who took the brunt of everything I did was my wife and family.”

In addition to Citizen of the Year, The 81st Annual Awards Banquet named the Outstanding Seniors of the year for each high school in the county.

Nathaniel Alvarado, a senior at Austwell-Tivoli High School, was named from three nominees. The other two students were Lauren Kelso and Davin Wolfshohl.

Dalton Klare, a senior at Refugio High School, was named Outstanding Senior from three nominees. The other two students were Morgan Klaevemann and Hannah Rose.

Justin Fierova, a senior at Woodsboro High School, was named Outstanding Senior from three nominees. The other two students were Dan Han and Kasye McCool.

All of the students received Chamber plaques and Congressional letters of recognition from U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold.

Banquet attendees were treated to 1950s music performed by an Elvis impersonator, Henry Vasquez of Corpus Christi.

Carrying out the ’50s theme, hot dogs and old fashioned hamburgers with root beer floats were served.

Henry’s Mexican Food catered the event.

VFW Post 6290 presented the colors and Ally Coscetti sang the National Anthem at the start of the banquet.

Door prizes were awarded and a silent auction was held.

Also, Chamber members were introduced.

In addition to Anzaldua, who is Chamber president, members of the board of directors included the following: First Vice President Michael Villarreal, Second Vice President Christie Mascorro, Treasurer Veronica Rocha, Sue Ellen Brown, Lisa Herring, Philip Lewis, Jennifer Steele, LaDonna Marquis and Kenda Nelson.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet