Olan Jackson McBroom
Sep 19, 2013 | 496 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
REFUGIO – Olan Jackson McBroom, 92, of Refugio, died Friday, Sept. 13, 2013.

Mr. McBroom was born Feb. 7, 1921, in Rusk County, to Curby and Ida Pate McBroom. He attended Rusk Texas School System, graduating in 1940. After graduation, he joined the United States Army and served with the 36th Infantry Division of Texas (T-Patch) in Africa and Italy during World War II. He was awarded the Bronze Star and the Purple Heart. After being honorably discharged from the army, he married Devena Scates on Nov. 3, 1944, in Jacksonville.

They moved to Refugio in 1956, and he worked for Humble Oil (Exxon-Mobil) for more than 35 years. He served on the Refugio City Council, both as councilman and mayor. He was then elected District Administrator of District 29, where he served for 36 years until his retirement in 2011 due to health reasons. He was a member of Assembly of God Church and was a lifetime member of VFW Post 6290.

He was preceded in death by his parents; and three sisters, Dorothy McBroom, Sue Gage and Murrell Reynolds.

Survivors include his wife of 69 years, Devena McBroom; two sons, Ronald (Becky) McBroom of Refugio, Gary (Berni) McBroom of Victoria; three sisters, Savannah Witt of Lufkin, Ruth Conway of Longview, and Josephine (Charles) Watkins of Douglas; three brothers, C.J. (Libby) McBroom of Longview, Thomas (Diane) McBroom of Lufkin and Ruben McBroom of Mineral Wells; four grandchildren, Ronald McBroom, Melinda (Bruce) Henkhaus, Casey (Tori) McBroom and Stacy (Patrick) Broome; seven great-grandchildren; and one step-grandson.

Visitation was held from 6 to 8 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 14, at Moore Funeral Home Chapel in Refugio,

The funeral service was conducted at 3 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 15, at First Baptist Church of Refugio. A graveside service was held at 10:30 a.m. Monday at Bradford Cemetery in Troupe.

Pallbearers were Greg Likens, Bob Scheizer, David Crebs, John Solis, George Rohr, Richard Webb, Joey Herrington and Mike Weatherwax.

Honorary pallbearers were Casey McBroom, Patrick Broome, Ronald McBroom, Bruce Henkhaus, Gordon Kemp, Ronnie Hessletine and Joey Herrington.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet