Gamma Omicron Chapter begins new year
Sep 20, 2012 | 1030 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Gamma Omicron members Pam Burge, Jan Anderson, Erie Head, Betty Thornton and Aide Lopez create mosaics based on the 7 purposes of the DKG organization during their Sept. 8 meeting.
Gamma Omicron members Pam Burge, Jan Anderson, Erie Head, Betty Thornton and Aide Lopez create mosaics based on the 7 purposes of the DKG organization during their Sept. 8 meeting.
Gamma Omicron members began a new chapter year on Sept. 8 with a morning meeting hosted by the Kenedy town group. Kenedy Elementary School cafeteria was the setting and as members arrived they were treated to a selection of breakfast tacos, muffins, breakfast casserole, fresh fruit, cookies, juice and coffee. Members were seated at tables decorated with lighthouses in recognition of State President Joanne Davis’ biennium theme “Explore the Possibilities: Let Our Vision Light the Way.”

President Lana Massengale called the business meeting to order at 9:30, welcomed members and recognized Gamma Omicron’s newest member Dr. Linda Vegh of Tuleta. Dr. Vegh is a transfer member, coming from Delta Beta Chapter in Uvalde. Pam Kerlick led in the pledge of allegiance to the flag and Pam Burge presented a meditation using Berkeley Breathed’s book Goodnight Opus. Ms. Burge reminded members that in the book Opus learns what fun it is to “depart the text” and embrace adventure. Corresponding Secretary Gretchen Dupnik read a thank you letter from Bethany San Miguel of Beeville. Miss San Miguel was the recipient of a $400 book grant from the chapter. Membership Chairman Karen Knowlton recognized members with August and September birthdays and then drew names for door prizes. Mary Claire Luce, Falba Jo Roberts, Aide Lopez, Monica Blackwell and Karen were the lucky winners. Members with perfect attendance from the last chapter year were acknowledged and presented with perfect attendance pins. Recognized were Sharon Lee, Lana Massengale, Falba Jo Roberts and Catherine Thornton from Beeville, Pam Burge, Pam Kerlick and Laura Veth from the Kenedy town group and Gretchen Dupnik and Holly Polasek from the Karnes City town group. From those with perfect attendance Pam Burge was chosen to have her membership dues paid by the chapter. Scholarship Chairman Betty Thornton reminded members of the availability of scholarships to them through the state Delta Kappa Gamma organization and Pam Kerlick asked that members provide her with any updates or changes to yearbook information.

An interesting program was presented by 1st Vice President Pam Burge who led the members in reviewing the 7 purposes of the Delta Kappa Gamma organization. In the review of the purposes each member created a mosaic that was unique to her, yet each reflected the principles of the DKG Society. The Delta Kappa Gamma Society promotes the personal and professional growth of its members and excellence in education. After the program members learned of the latest good news in one another’s lives as Erie Head read brags from the brag bag. To conclude the meeting Gamma Omicron members sang the Delta Kappa Gamma song. Before leaving, the various town groups met to select town chairmen and to plan for the coming year.

Attending from Beeville were Monica Blackwell, Frieda Hartzendorf, Erie Head, Evelyn Jeanes, Pam Jeanes, Karen Knowlton, Mary Claire Luce, Myrtle Lucke, Lana Massengale, Marie Meadows, Falba Jo Roberts, Catherine Thornton, and Elizabeth Thornton. Attending from Karnes City and Kenedy were Jan Anderson, Pam Burge, Gretchen Dupnik, Frances Eckols, Jennifer Gonzales, Pam Kerlick, Susie Kotara, Sabrina Lewallen, Aide Lopez, Kathy Morgan, Irene Perez, Linda Vegh, and Laura Veth.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet