Herring named 2012 Citizen of the Year
by Kenda Nelson
Mar 23, 2012 | 2565 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Chamber board member Jennifer Perez-Lara presents RHS outstanding students Justin Franklin, Thomas Ramirez and Jake Heryford. RISD superintendent Jack Gaskins introduced the students. Franklin was selected.
view slideshow (5 images)
REFUGIO — Coach Jason Herring held up two hands, each about a foot apart.

“This is how much we won the state championship by,” Herring said.

The Refugio ISD athletic director was named the 2012 Citizen of the Year Saturday night during the Chamber of Commerce’s 79th Annual Awards Banquet in the community center.

On Tuesday afternoon, Herring was the grand marshal of the Refugio County Parade.

Saturday evening, with an audience of approximately 260 people, the coach lavished praise on the 42 Refugio Bobcats who won the championship.

“Great kids make great coaches,” Herring said.

The head coach has led two teams to the state championship – in Refugio and Sonora. Both teams won their championships on Dec. 16. In addition, Herring was also named Citizen of the Year in Sonora.

“I will never, ever, ever, ever forget this,” he said. “I love Refugio and Refugio County.”

Herring came to Refugio five years ago from Sonora. The coach promised the town he would bring a state championship home to Refugio – the first since 1982.

“Nothing means more to me than this,” he said.

Last year’s outstanding citizen Sidney Pullin presented the award to Herring. Four others were nominated including Robert E. “Bobby” Blaschke, Don Pullin and Mr. and Mrs. James S. Kelley.

An outstanding student also was selected from each of the three county high schools. Marcus Salinas was chosen from Austwell-Tivoli; Justin Franklin from Refugio; and Toni Bauck from Woodsboro. Other honorees were Miranda Farias and Jonathan Rees, A-THS; Jacob Heryford and Thomas Ramirez, RHS; and Kasie Fierova and Malorie Nesloney of WHS.

This year the chamber also recognized 24 businesses which have served the county for more than 50 years.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet