Goliad County 4-H’ers fare well at District 11 Roundup
May 06, 2013 | 1405 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Goliad County 4-H Club members had strong showings in the 2013 District 11 4-H Roundup events held April 11-16. 

More than 30 Goliad County 4-H’ers traveled to Hallettsville, Victoria and Kerrville to participate in the district contests. Thirteen senior-aged 4-H members qualified for Texas State Roundup to be held June 10-14 in College Station.

Events began April 11 in Hallettsville with 15 Goliad County participants competing in consumer decision making. The senior team of Megan Hilscher, Bailey Janssen and Kendra Webel placed first and will advance to state. The senior team of Kassidy Bego, Hanna Henson and Ethan Whaley placed fifth. 

Individual placements included Webel (first), Hilscher (fifth), Bego (sixth), Janssen (ninth), Henson (12th) and Whaley (24th). Also placing first was the junior team of Mateo Martinez (first), Rebecca Johnson (third), David Stewart (fourth), Kyle Gaskamp (12th) and Kolby Janssen (13th). In the intermediate age group, the team of Holly Gaskamp (ninth), Michala Janssen (24th), McKenna Sawyer (31st) and Kendall Coles (45th) placed sixth.  

On April 13, district roundup events continued on the campus of St. Joseph High School in Victoria. In educational presentations, senior Amanda Cloessner placed first in the clothing and textiles category and will advance to state. Juniors Jackson Bochat, Nicholas Pompa and Justin Swize also placed first in the open category with their American flag presentation. Intermediates Rhett Davis, Caleigh Knipling and Weston Wimberly received a blue ribbon on their ranch safety presentation.   

 Three Goliad County teams competed in the Nutrition Quiz Bowl competition. Seniors  Amanda Cloessner, Kassidy Bego and Carolyn Swize finished first and will advance to state. Juniors Gunner Garnet, Mateo Martinez, and Justin Swize placed first over the second-place finishers, also from Goliad, Brynna Billo, Karleigh Hill and Addison McKelvey. 

In the Share The Fun category, the senior team placed first and qualified for state. Team members included Kassidy Bego, Matthew Haney, Cody Park, Emily Speed, Carolyn Swize, Kendra Webel, Trent Welfel, Trista Welfel and Mac Wimberly. Jadan Butler and Brooke Yanta took second in the poetry/prose category.

 The final participants traveled to Kerrville on April 17 to participate in the district mohair judging contests.  Competing as a senior individual was Tallis Butler. Competing on the intermediate team was Jadan Butler, Landry Cunningham and Bailey Huber. Competing as junior individuals were Braxton Butler and Brooke Yanta.

District photography results for intermediates and juniors were also announced at the district roundup. Goliad County 4-H members participating included Kolby Janssen (blue ribbon in wildlife and blue ribbon in domestic animals), Michala Janssen (blue ribbon in catch-all), Jonathon Raska (second in food and red elements of design), Sarah Rayburn (first place in plant-flora), Mallory Shelton (blue ribbon in wildlife and first in nature and landscape) and Brooke Yanta (blue ribbon in food).
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet