Bobcats earn postseason football accolades
by Bruce Harper
Dec 30, 2009 | 1323 views | 1 1 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Alex Gonzales, First team offense and defense
view slideshow (5 images)
The Skidmore-Tynan Bobcats football team was well represented on the All-District 30-2A teams selected by the district’s coaches. Five ‘Cats were named to either the first team offense or defense for their play this year. Alex Gonzales earned a spot on both sides of the ball.

The district’s first team offense had Gonzales at running back. Gonzales was a unanimous choice by the coaches for one of the three running back spots. Lineman Matt Hernandez filled a spot along the offensive line first team. Hernandez’s choice was also unanimous.

Four Bobcats made the defensive first team. Inside linebacker Joe Casarez and outside linebacker Gonzales, who was a unanimous choice on the defensive unit as well, made the all-district first team. Zach Hall was a unanimous choice as a defensive back.

Sonny Hernandez was selected as a defensive specialist by the coaches to join the first team defense.

The second team offense had Bobcat offensive lineman Taylor Long up front. The second team defense had outside linebacker Adam Perez and defensive end Rene Jimenez.

The All-District 30-2A top honors were dominated by state-semifinalist Refugio. Jourdan Ortiz was co-MVP of the district with Taft’s R.J. Garza. Offensive MVP went to the Greyhounds’ Sam Pesek. The defensive MVP went to Refugio lineman Dylan Klare. The Newcomer of the Year went to Refugio’s speedy freshman Draigon Silvas and the Coach of the Year was awarded to Refugio Bobcat head coach Jason Herring for taking his team all the way to the state semifinals this year.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
January 05, 2010
Sam Pesek is from Odem.