Primary voting begins
by Chip Latcham
Feb 19, 2014 | 332 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Early voting for the upcoming Democratic and Republican primary elections started Tuesday, Feb. 18, and will continue through Friday, Feb. 28.

Election day is Tuesday, March 4, and voting locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Meanwhile, early voting is being held weekdays at the Bee County Courthouse from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., including the noon hour. Early voting will also be conducted there on Saturday, Feb. 22, during those same hours.

Regarding local contested races, four Republicans and nine Democrats are vying to earn positions on the November general election ballot. Among those are candidates for county commissioners in Precincts 2 and 4, county clerk and two justice of the peace races.

As a public service, the Bee-Picayune is providing answers to a questionnaire submitted by many of those candidates, starting in today’s paper with the commissioner hopefuls.

Sample ballots for the county Democratic and Republican primaries appeared in last Saturday’s edition to assist voters.

Texas has open primaries, meaning a voter can cast a ballot in either party’s primary, regardless of whether the voter has voted in that party’s primary before.

Candidates must receive more than 50 percent of the vote to be nominated. If no candidate gets more than 50 percent, there will be a runoff on May 27.

Once a voter has cast a ballot in a party primary, the voter can vote in that party’s runoffs, if there are any. If the voter skips the primary, he or she can vote in either runoff. But voters cannot cross over in the runoffs; if one votes in the Republican primary, he or she can’t vote in the Democratic runoff, and vice versa.

County Clerk Mirella Escamilla Davis cautioned voters if they sign a petition for a candidate, they shall vote in that party’s primary.

Davis added that registered voters in these primary elections must show a valid photo ID according to Texas law, not the voter registration certificate as in past elections.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet