Judge appoints new grand jurors
Jan 19, 2014 | 476 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
BEEVILLE – Twelve new grand jurors and two alternates were named last week to replace the July term of the Bee County Grand Jury.

James W. Staples of Tuleta was named as the new grand jury foreman, and Mary Hammers of Beeville will serve as the assistant foreman.

Other regular grand jurors named included Elma G. Gutierrez, Yolanda V. Boerm, Christopher Shaw, Sarah DeSpain, Eddie Gutierrez, Heather Dautreuil, Marisella Carabajal, Juan Garza Jr., Donnie Espinoza and Gilbert Guerrero, all of Beeville.

The two alternate grand jurors were Geraldo Barboza and Frederick C. Latcham.

Grand jurors serve for six months before they are replaced by a new panel.

District Judge Joel Johnson appointed the new grand jurors.

The grand jury does not decide the guilt or innocence in criminal cases. The jurors listen to the evidence prosecutors have against felony suspects and decide whether there is enough cause to take the case to district court for a final determination.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet