Runoffs scheduled Tuesday 636 early votes cast in Bee County
Jul 29, 2012 | 1130 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bee-Picayune staff

Runoff elections are scheduled for Tuesday for both Democrats and Republicans.

The early voting period ended at 5 p.m. Friday. Unofficially, 415 GOP and 221 Democrat votes had been reported at the county clerk’s office as of Thursday evening.

On July 31, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., the consolidated polling places will be found at the locations listed below.

Anyone who voted in either primary must vote in the same party’s runoff election — those voters cannot switch.

Also, if an eligible voter did not cast a ballot during the primary, he or she may still vote in either party’s primary runoff.

The candidates on the ballots are:

U.S. senator

On the Republican ticket, neither David Dewhurst nor Ted Cruz received 50 percent of the total vote — which forced a runoff in the race for U.S. senator.

On the Democratic ticket, Paul Sadler will face Grady Yarbrough.

State representative of District 43

The Republican nomination for state representative of District 43 will pit incumbent J.M. Lozano against Bill T. Wilson II.

U.S. representative of District 34

In the race for Republican nomination for U.S. representative of District 34, Adela Garza will face Jessica Puente Bradshaw.

On the Democratic ticket, Filemon Vela will face Denise Saenz-Blanchard.

Railroad commissioner

In the race for railroad commissioner, Republican Christi Craddick will square off against Warren Chisum.

The winner here will face Dale Henry in the November general election.

Likewise, the Republican race for railroad commissioner, filling an unexpired term, will pit Barry Smitherman against Greg Parker.

The winner will not have a Democratic opponent in the November election.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4

For the Republican nomination of justice, Supreme Court, Place 4, David Medina will face John Devine.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet