Spring sports banquet fetes student/athletes
May 16, 2013 | 1516 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
BEEVILLE – The annual A.C. Jones High School spring sports banquet was held on Thursday at the Bee County Expo Center with several student/athletes garnering awards from their coaches.

Athletes participating in soccer, softball, baseball, wrestling, powerlifting, track, golf and tennis were all honored.

In tennis, coach John Kidd presented the Most Improved Award to Tyler Stewart and Karla Martinez. The Most Valuable Player honors went to Eric Dehnert and Cori Moore. The Academic Player of the Year was won by Emily Barris and Graham Traylor. Tennis’ Trojan Hustle Award went to Roberto Reyna. The Trojan Heart Award was given to Colton Wren and Samantha Ramon.

Head golf coach John Johnson presented the Most Improved awards to Sydnie Maguire and Mario Borrego. The MVP awards went to James Larakers and Sara Casas for their fine seasons this year.

The Trojan wrestling team under head coach Terry Foster presented the Fighting Heart Award to Mario Perez. The Most Improved Wrestler award went to Danielle Perez (all-state in her weight class). The Fireman’s Award went to Rogelio Salazar, as did the Outstanding Wrestler Award. Salazar won his weight class at the state meet to become Beeville’s third state champion in any sport.

Coach Rudy Valerio presented his powerlifting awards, and Alexis Pelitire accepted the Best Female Powerlifter Award. Tristan Pelitire earned the Best Male Powerlifter Award. The Most Improved lifter was Jacob Flores. The Trojan Heart Award in powerlifting was a co-honor as Hilario Luna and Dillon Torres shared the award.

For the Lady Trojan soccer team, head coach Don Ledesma presented the Most Valuable Player Award to Heather McKinney. The Newcomer of the Year went to freshman Mackenzie Harvey. The Offensive MVP Award was earned by Victoria Elizalde. The Most Improved Award was presented to Anisa Cantu. The Coaches’ Award was shared by Lady Trojans Tori Munoz and Carmen Rojas. Taylor Castillo was selected as the team’s Defensive Most Valuable Player.

In baseball, head coach Tom Carrera presented his Golden Glove Award to shortstop Joe Rey Garza. The Big Stick Award went to catcher Daniel Amador as the team’s big hitter. The Outstanding Pitcher Award went to senior Clay Blackwell and the team’s Most Valuable Player Award was also presented to Blackwell.

The softball team under head coach Jose Flores presented a Hustle Award to Krystal Cuellar. The Heart Award for the Lady Trojans went to Rebecca De Los Santos. The Top Hitters Award went to two Lady Trojans, Andrea Briseno and Amanda Gonzales. The Most Valuable Player Award was also shared. Co-honorees were Theresa Amador and Eddika Ortega.

The Lady Trojan track team of coach Gracy Bryce presented the Outstanding Field Event Award to Erika Martin.Martin also earned the Outstanding Track Athlete Award. The Most Improved Athlete Award went to Marriah Menchaca and Mindy Maldonado. The Track Heart Award went to two athletes as Camryn Lofthouse and Kayla Standridge earned the honor.

The boys’ soccer awards were presented by head coach Taliesin McCall. The Most Valuable Player for the Trojans was goal keeper Marcos Ulloa. Ryan Casarez was named the Offensive Player of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year Award was erned by William Landreth. The Trojan’s Newcomer of the Year went to Chase Ellerbee.

In boy’s track, the Most Valuable Field athlete was Tevin Wilson. The Most Improved Award was shared by Michael Crow and Mark Cook. Head coach Kelly Back presented the heart Award to Gabriel Salinas and Damian Aparicio. The Most Valuable Track athlete award was shared by Tanner Trevino and Robert Rodriguez.

A special award from the Marine Corps was presented to one Trojan and one Lady Trojan by Staff Sgt. Andrew Ortiz of the Marine recruiting office in Beeville. Marcos Ulloa and Tori Munoz were recipients of the Marines’ recognition.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet