Endorsements made in primary races
by Chip Latcham
Feb 26, 2014 | 327 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
After reviewing the plethora of candidates in the Texas primary elections and endorsements in major newspapers and from like-minded organizations such as the Texas Farm Bureau and Texas Association of Business, we recommend these persons vying in the contested statewide primary races:

U.S. Senator: John Cornyn (R) and Maxey Scherr (D)

Governor: Greg Abbott (R) and Wendy Davis (D)

Lt. Governor: Todd Staples (R)

Attorney General: Dan Branch (R)

Comptroller: Harvey Hilderbran (R)

Land Commissioner: George P. Bush (R)

Agriculture Commissioner: Eric Opiela (R) from Karnes County or J. Allen Carnes (R), and Hugh Fitzsimons (D)

Railroad Commissioner: Malachi Boyuls (R) and Steve Brown (D)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court: Nathan Hecht (R)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6: Jeff Brown (R)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8: Phil Johnson (R)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3: Bert Richardson (R)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4: Jani Jo Wood (R)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9: David Newell (R)

Justice, 13th Court of Appeals District, Place 6: Doug Norman (R)

Obviously, many more contested races are found on the Republican ballot. Because of the lengthy ballots and the fact that most Bee Countians are familiar with the local candidates, we will watch them decide the outcomes in such races as justice of the peace.

However, we would encourage returning the experience and knowledge of incumbent County Commissioners Dennis DeWitt (R) and Ken Haggard (R) and County Clerk Mirella Escamilla Davis (D).

Remember that Friday is the final day to cast an early vote at the courthouse and election day is Tuesday, March 4. And you must have a valid photo ID to cast your vote.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet