Patriotism on display
by Chip Latcham
04:00 PM, Friday, May 22
As thousands of displaced people fleeing the violence in Ramadi flooded into Baghdad this week, Americans again are reminded that we live in a dangerous world. After all the blood of U.S. soldiers, Marines, SEALs and pilots that was spilled to wre...

Latest Editorials

Rain or not, events will go on
Weather experts have determined the drought is over in South Texas, according to several recent reports. Waterlogged ...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 15
full story
Surprise, it’s a judge!
In a moment of “what just happened here?,” the Bee County Commissioners Court emerged from its closed session and una...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 13
full story
Honoring their memory
Although many stories have caused our readers to shake their heads in disbelief or disgust, one published in the last...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 08
full story
Not making much noise
For those who have noticed all the Blue Angels references appearing on this page in recent editions, we have an apt d...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, May 06
full story
College takes center stage this weekend
While the county’s citizens wait for our commissioners to appoint a new county judge, a prime opportunity has been pr...
03:00 PM, Friday, May 01
full story
Hey, Commissioners, let’s get off high center
It’s now six weeks since County Judge David Silva died, and his calm, rational demeanor has never been so sorely miss...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 29
full story
Texting ban needs to be law
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and Sen. Judith Zaffirini is urging passage of a bill that would ban tex...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 24
full story
Remembering our better Angels
Dodging weekend thunderstorms, air show fans finally were rewarded on Sunday at NAS Corpus Christi when the Navy’s fa...
04:29 PM, Wednesday, April 22
full story
Preservation in store
If April showers bring May flowers, we all should be covered in fields the size of the floats entered in the Tourname...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 15
full story
Good candidate choices for court to consider
A diverse, impressive list of applicants for the vacant position of Bee County judge has been revealed this week. Acc...
03:00 PM, Friday, April 10
full story
Journalists behaving badly
The Columbia Journalism Review’s investigation into Rolling Stone’s inflammatory story of rape at a University of Vir...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 08
full story
It’s deadly out there
Not surprising, but it’s getting more dangerous on our roads and highways. Bee County has been rated “safe” on a scal...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, April 01
full story
State worthy performance
When young people win state at anything, it’s a huge accomplishment. Whether in academic or athletic competition, it’...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 27
full story
Miles to go before they sleep
This time of year, all South Texans have to believe they’ve hit the jackpot. After the beneficial rains, the spring w...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, March 25
full story
Don’t let them steal your joy
Surprise; the start of spring this year has been accompanied by unusually generous rainfall, bringing smiles to most ...
03:00 PM, Friday, March 20
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« DubiousForever wrote on Sunday, May 24 at 09:02 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Friday, May 15 at 03:11 PM »
« champyun03 wrote on Thursday, May 14 at 10:03 AM »
« DubiousForever wrote on Thursday, May 14 at 09:56 AM »