A time to mourn
by Chip Latcham
08:00 AM, Friday, August 19
There are no words. Wednesday’s front page of The Progress carried the incredibly sad story of the death of a teenager in a freak accident on Aug. 10. According to the sheriff’s report, two teens were hunting rabbits at a ranch off U.S. 59 about 1...

Latest Editorials

Off the old block: Importance of stepping up
Showing up is half the battle. Those words, or some quite similar, were expressed by the minister at the funeral of a...
08:00 AM, Sunday, August 14
full story
Where there’s extreme heat ... there’s no need to add fire
Hot and dry for the foreseeable future, with heat index values exceeding 110 degrees. It appears anyone with a pulse ...
10:00 AM, Friday, August 12
full story
Regretful acts of desperation
Desperation is a dangerous foe. It can lead to life-altering decisions with consequences. A case in point is the lead...
12:00 PM, Thursday, August 11
full story
Can’t you just feel excitement building?
It appears South Texas again has dodged a bullet with Hurricane Earl projected to remain well to our south. Unfortuna...
10:00 AM, Monday, August 08
full story
OK, let’s touch the third rail of JHS tradition
For many Trojan athletes there’s an elephant in the alma mater
07:00 PM, Friday, August 05
full story
Heed hurricane warnings
Nearly three years have elapsed without a hurricane in the Gulf of Mexico. That streak may be about to end soon, acco...
04:00 PM, Thursday, August 04
full story
Not your average leader
You have to admire the positive direction taken by recently hired Beeville ISD Superintendent Mark Puig and the new b...
09:09 AM, Tuesday, August 02
full story
Drought devastating Vineyard
Now is the time for Beeville citizens who have been blessed with the means to do so to help those less fortunate. The...
08:00 AM, Saturday, July 23
full story
Vision for learning emphasized
Thank you, Superintendent Marc Puig and the Beeville public school trustees, for keeping your priorities straight. In...
03:53 PM, Friday, July 15
full story
Unity, love, respect desperately needed
It’s been almost a week since the Dallas police shootings, and this nation continues to mourn this senseless loss of ...
07:00 PM, Wednesday, July 13
full story
BCAD cannot be allowed to screw up home values
This nation was born in no small part from a tax revolt, so it is as American as the Fourth of July to push back when...
08:00 AM, Saturday, July 09
full story
Acts of kindness appreciated
As we head into the Fourth of July weekend (don’t forget Saturday’s huge fireworks show and Baseball Bash at Coastal ...
04:25 PM, Friday, July 01
full story
Fourth fun will ignite Saturday back at college
The problem: Where to take the family for a bang-up Fourth of July celebration? The solution: Look no farther than Co...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, June 29
full story
What’s going on? Mercy, mercy
What the blazes is going on around here? First, Beeville police officials are investigating a young man’s body found ...
12:13 PM, Wednesday, June 22
full story
Energetic attention grabber
For those who are feeling drained by the first summer heat spell, or staggered by oppressive commercial property appr...
08:00 AM, Monday, June 20
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« pokerchip wrote on Friday, Aug 19 at 08:21 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Thursday, Aug 18 at 01:48 PM »
« pokerchip wrote on Tuesday, Aug 16 at 11:13 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Sunday, Aug 07 at 10:27 PM »