Important reasons to vote
by Chip Latcham
10:00 AM, Friday, October 21
Sick and tired of the juvenile name-calling, vulgar accusations and incessant allegations of corruption? The one constant we hear about this year’s presidential race is that everyone cannot wait for it to be over. Often, one feels the urge to take...

Latest Editorials

Bee-Pic wins third places in national newspaper contest
BEEVILLE – The Bee-Picayune won two third place certificates in the National Newspaper Association Better Newspaper C...
12:00 PM, Thursday, October 20
full story
Tribute to community leaders
With each passing day it seems we are losing more and more of the legends from this community, as well as South Texas...
07:00 PM, Monday, October 17
full story
Traveling familiar trail
The Bee County Western Week Celebration rides back into town this weekend, for what some old-timers may remember for ...
12:00 PM, Saturday, October 15
full story
Building paths to future
One year after celebrating its 50th anniversary, Coastal Bend College and its foundation continue to record many posi...
10:00 AM, Saturday, October 08
full story
And the winner is... joke writers and editorial cartoonists
So who do you think won the “Debate of the Century” Monday night? The bombastic, borderline racist, former reality TV...
12:00 PM, Saturday, October 01
full story
Saturday vote: Innovative plan would help BISD
It’s the election before the election, and it’s been flying under the radar. Avoiding the turbulence and nastiness em...
02:00 PM, Friday, September 30
full story
Play for the name on the front of your jersey
Recently, I had a coach tell me that there were some players on the team who didn’t like each other for one reason or...
12:00 PM, Thursday, September 29
full story
Cleaning up some well-deserved honors
Three cheers for the City of Beeville employees who are preparing to come down hard on those who fail to comply with ...
10:00 AM, Sunday, September 25
full story
When mastodons and rhinos roamed Berclair
Sometimes in this business, you know about a story, but you don’t have the story to tell. Such is the case with the B...
12:00 PM, Friday, September 23
full story
A lucky dime and a lot of class
Do you realize that the high school football season is more than a quarter of the way completed? It’s crazy how quick...
12:00 PM, Saturday, September 17
full story
Safety’s their mission
It goes without saying we have a lot of criminal activity throughout the Coastal Bend. In the last few editions, Bee-...
07:00 PM, Monday, September 12
full story
BISD needs to be mindful of athletics siren song
Clearly we’ve got a new sheriff – heck, an entire posse – at the Beeville Independent School District and the energy ...
10:00 AM, Thursday, September 08
full story
Printed public notices help keep local taxing entities tra...
Earlier this year, Speaker of the House Joe Straus appointed me as chairman of the Joint Committee on Advertising Pub...
04:00 PM, Tuesday, September 06
full story
Real life is not like a video game
I might be dating myself a bit, but one of my favorite video games is the original Super Mario Bros., which was inclu...
12:00 PM, Saturday, September 03
full story
Another tragedy reminds all to be careful on roads
Again this region has been stunned by the tragic loss of a child. Department of Public Safety troopers were investiga...
10:00 AM, Saturday, September 03
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« chiefjj1976 wrote on Thursday, Oct 20 at 08:29 PM »
« wrote on Saturday, Oct 15 at 10:37 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Friday, Oct 14 at 02:51 PM »
« Beeville wrote on Thursday, Oct 13 at 05:40 PM »