Going about this all wrong
by Chip Latcham
03:09 PM, Wednesday, November 19
The lead story by Joe Baker in this week’s Karnes Countywide certainly grabbed our readers’ attention areawide. Headlined “Border insecurity,” it dealt with a recent public forum held in Floresville at which experts discussed the controversial top...

Latest Editorials

Veterans, community exchange appreciation
Beeville and Bee County certainly know how to make veterans feel welcome. From school observances and the traditional...
04:00 PM, Wednesday, November 12
full story
Post-election thoughts
Congratulations to all the winners, and especially to County Judge David Silva – believed to be the first person elec...
04:00 PM, Friday, November 07
full story
Remember: Vote on Tuesday
Early voting ended on Halloween at the courthouse. If one has not already done so, the only way to make one’s ballot ...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 31
full story
Spine-tingling setting for ghost stories
Halloween has an extra special significance this year for some celebrants in the Bee-Live Oak County area. What bette...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 29
full story
Need for speed returns to Chase Field
For those who think the rural lifestyle around here is too slow-paced, we offer a rare alternative. But you had bette...
04:00 PM, Friday, October 24
full story
Lozano, Garza, Silva, Haggard, Prop. 1 endorsed
Continuing our endorsements from the last issue in contested area and local races on the Nov. 4 general election ball...
03:00 PM, Thursday, October 23
full story
Cornyn, Smith, Abbott, Houston earn top of ballot endorsem...
Early voting begins Monday in the 2014 general election, an important midterm in many states, including Texas, which ...
03:00 PM, Friday, October 17
full story
Go West, for goodness’ sake
Where else can real and imaginary cowboys and cowgirls gather this weekend to: • experience bull riding, bronc riding...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 15
full story
You must prove who you are everywhere but the ballot box
Well, here we go again. A federal judge in Corpus Christi on Thursday evening rejected Texas’ voter ID law, just days...
04:00 PM, Friday, October 10
full story
Measured response to Ebola needed to contain disease
It would seem a good dose of composure and common sense is just what the doctor ordered now. Fears are spreading abou...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 08
full story
Chamber roars back
Friday night’s Chamber of Commerce banquet at Chase Field was praised by many of those in attendance. If it had not b...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, October 01
full story
EFS boom showing no signs of slowing down
“How long is it going to last?” That’s the $64 billion question – adjusted to Eagle Ford Shale values. Many of us who...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 26
full story
Spotlights shining brightly Friday night
Friday night should prove to be quite memorable for this community. First, it’s the Beeville Trojans’ Homecoming game...
03:00 PM, Wednesday, September 24
full story
The late, great Wednesday edition (or how we got de-pressed)
“Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth.” – Mike Tyson, former heavyweight boxing champion Astute r...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 19
full story
Shooting ahead to fall attractions
Although many people are ecstatic about this weekend’s special events (Fight Night 2 and Diez y Seis), others already...
03:00 PM, Friday, September 12
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« jen.c.oneill@gmail.com wrote on Thursday, Nov 20 at 01:07 PM »
« medic860 wrote on Monday, Nov 17 at 05:45 AM »
« Yorkiesrule wrote on Thursday, Nov 13 at 02:03 PM »
« doucare wrote on Tuesday, Nov 11 at 02:53 PM »